Construction begins

Over the past few days I have been constructing my Vogue 8648 dress. I was a little bit renegade and rushed ahead of the Craftsy lesson as I was eager to have a go at pattern matching. I sewed the dress together in one evening and was pretty pleased with the results.

20140715-201349-72829462.jpg
This was my first try at matching a pattern across seams and, although it’s not perfect, I was very impressed by my first attempt. The hints and tips in the Craftsy lesson certainly helped.
I then couldn’t help myself – I sewed in the zip. Again, I’m pretty pleased with the way the fabric lined up but I was disappointed that it wasn’t perfect.

20140715-201600-72960008.jpg
I then left the dress for a couple of days unsure of where to go. I picked it up again this afternoon determined to improve the fit. It looks great on the dress form, but there was some bagging around the back on me. I had thought of ignoring it, bit the whole purpose of this dress is to learn new skills and practise them, so I took the bull by the horns as they say. I wondered if I needed to reduce the size of the midriff (I am quite short) but this didn’t seem to be the problem. I decided to take some from the back side sections. In true couture learning style, this time I pinned it and tried it on before re pinning, being sure that I was happy with my alteration before committing to the sewing machine.
And it worked. I now have the makings of a beautiful dress.

20140715-202027-73227561.jpg

20140715-202027-73227888.jpg
I’m away for the next couple of weeks, but will spend time pondering the sleeves ready to tackle them on my return.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 02:44:36

    Your fabric is so cool! I can imagine the matching would be difficult. A lady at work wore the new dress she just bought at an expensive store. It was striped all around and it didn’t match at the seams. Shame on them! Good for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

