Finished Phoebe

After a week away from the sewing machine (see previous post) it has taken me all of 10 minutes to finish off the Phoebe bag I started well over a week ago.
One of my new challenges is to create projects using the fabric that I already have in my stash. This tartan is recycled from a beautiful Ness skirt I bought at a charity shop. Although I loved the skirt it didn’t quite fit over the hips so I posted a photo of it on Facebook and asked for ideas.

IMG_0069
I toyed with several ideas but was limited by the amount of fabric available. Then I remembered this pattern I had got from Craftsy so thought I’d give it a go.
The pattern was actually pretty simple and easy to follow however I made a few silly mistakes along the way, mainly through rushing: the top stitching on the handle is poor and the fastener doesn’t quite line up accurately. I can live with these imperfections and I’m sure others won’t notice them.
Its definitely a pattern I’ll use again and perhaps take a little more time over it then!

IMG_0118

IMG_0120

IMG_0119
Back to school tomorrow with a new accessory. Mine’s a Phoebe, what’s yours?

IMG_0118-0

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 03:59:16

    The lining and the fabric go together so well. Very nice!

    Reply

  2. Thimberlina
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 22:42:52

    Love the fabric, and I’m sure no ones gonna notice the bits you’re not happy with 😀

    Reply

  3. Zoe
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 20:57:52

    Cute bag. Lovely fabric! I love the Ness stuff but of course it doesn’t come in my size. Or shape rather. The hips often seem a bit snug in their stuff. I kind of want to ask them if they wouldn’t mind just selling their awesome fabrics…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

