Prepping the next project. 

I’m very excited to be starting work on my Sew La-Di-Da Blitz dress pattern. With an upcoming swing band night on 16th May as part of our local arts festival I have been planning this make for a while.

I sourced the pattern online, but saved myself to make the purchase at the Sewing for Pleasure show at the NEC recently. I’d like to tell you it saved me money, and it did in a way, but I bought two patterns as they were on a super special offer!

I’ve had the gorgeous fabric, bought at the Sewing Cafe, since I decided to make a dress for the occasion but was without the pattern. I can’t wait to get sewing!

  

This is also the first time I’ve tried fitting the paper pattern to my dress form and adjusting, rather than making a Muslin after watching McCall’s pattern fitting videos. There were a couple of minor adjustments to make so I’m hopeful the process works.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. springystitches
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 22:41:13

    Lovely fabric! I’ve recently bought a couple of these patterns too and can’t wait to get stuck in! I look forward to seeing how your dress progresses.

    Reply

    • Niki & Robert Hall-McNair
      Apr 13, 2015 @ 22:56:57

      Ooh, which patterns did you get? Have you made one up yet?
      Despite the handy photos, I’m not sure the instructions are going to be that easy to follow!

      Reply

      • springystitches
        Apr 15, 2015 @ 19:24:48

        I bought the one with the sweetheart neckline and the gypsy looking one. I haven’t started them yet, but I have purchased some fabric for one of them. I just need a few extra sewing hours or to give up work!

  2. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    Apr 13, 2015 @ 02:40:21

    Very cute fabric! Let us know how the pattern fitting goes. I have heard of that method, but not tried it yet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

