Swing Night Success

So I’ve been making my Sew-la-do-da Blitz dress for an upcoming special occasion and that was last night. I actually finished the dress a couple of weeks ago, but have been so busy with the festival that there just hasn’t been an opportunity to put it on for a photo.



I’m pleased with the fit after adjusting the paper pattern on my dress form and it’s my best invisible zip to date. I like the length of it and the bodice  lining  makes it a pleasure to wear. I’ve already blogged about my difficulties in getting the collar right, but I have to confess to finding the pattern instructions difficult to follow at times, which slowed me up a bit. Although photos can be helpful, the black and white images with plain calico fabric used in the example only served to confuse me more than help. Also, if I make this again I’ll attach the lining to the bodice differently. I think I’d have preferred to hand stitch the lining at the centre front, I think it would help it sit better on the neck line.

However, I’m really pleased with finished dress and enjoyed wearing it while cooking potatoes for 100 guests last night. It was comfortable and easy to wear that received many positive compliments. (I even wore it to go to the Musician Pub afterwards to see my son’s band Dig Lazarus (@Dig_Lazarus) WIN the Original Bands Showcase.)

Will I make another? I’m not sure. It’s not my usual style but I did enjoy wearing it. What would you do?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!
    May 17, 2015 @ 19:29:32

    Well, I think if it was comfortable on me… It would quickly become my style! 😃

    Reply

Leave a Reply

