Learning something new

Over the Christmas period this year I finally got around to learning how to crochet. It all started when I visited the stitching and hobbycraft show at the NEC Birmingham back in November. I got very excited by and bought ‘Edwards Crochet Imaginarium’ by Kerry Lord

What I loved about the book was the split pages meaning you can mix and match body parts to create something truly exciting. That is if you can crochet! 

And so I started to learn the basics. Through a mixture of a crochet magazine, the ubiquitous YouTube and helpful hints from the ladies at Ewe Time (a drop in yarn group hosted by the Handspinner Having Fun in Broadford on Skye) I began to get my head around the stitches. 

I began at the beginning of December and have gradually improved throughout the project. I would say by the final leg I was starting to feel as though I knew what I was doing. Up until that point I found it difficult to count stitches accurately and would lose count completely if I had to unpick (which was quite frequently). You’ll notice that each body part is a different size. Like I  said before, with this pattern you can make unique creations! 

That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! 

Leave a Reply

